A Bite From The Big Apple

 

What did you think about New York/the US and the Model UN before the trip and how did your perceptions change?

My expectations about New York didn´t really change much. Everyone knows New York from movies and when you walk in the famous streets of New York, you get the feeling that you have been there before. Still it was an amazing experience to actually walk the streets of NYC.

What did you learn about American culture?

I learned that Americans really are over protective. They wouldn’t let us go from conference sessions ahead of time. Americans are also cheery and always supporting you. Sometimes they are even too cheerful in melancholic Finnish perspective. Sometimes you just got tired to all that smiling. But customer service skills in US must be the best in the whole world! Shy finnish people should learn from that. We should be more open to everyone, both in our work and in our personal life.

20160227_023910

You don’t have to tell me that those doors are opening^

 

What was the best sight/experience during the journey and why?

Do you really need to ask this one? Visiting the headquarter of the United States of course. Not every tourist get to go there! But okay… good food and those yellow taxis was almost as good sights in NY as visiting UN. On top was also “The Cat Hotel” (Carlton arms) and walking on the streets of New York. I will never forget! Except when i get Alzheimer… 

 

What was your least favorite sight/experience during the journey and why?

It is hard to say, because every new experience is always a good experience to me. But if I had to choose it would be New Yorkers way to use too much car horn. AAARHG! Made me mad. 

Which piece of art intrigued you at MoMa and why? 

My favorite piece of art was The Persistence of Time by Salvador Dali. It was amazing to see that iconic picture in real life. Those dripping clocks in simple landscape are so impressive, masterpiece of surrealism.

How would you describe your own contribution to preparing for the journey and your responsibilities there (the Model UN conference)? What could you have done better?

Of Course I could have done more for preparing the position paper. I also could have done it earlier. But I think I made pretty good research and I was actually really interested about our country (Timor-Leste) and learned much about it during our project. I also should have taken some note paper with me to conference. 

 

But overall it was a great experience wich I no doubt would do again and I hope that everyone could get the same opportunity!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑