My trip to Model UN 2019

  • What did you think about New York/the US and the Model UN before the trip and how did your perceptions change?
    • Before the trip, I was really happy and excited to go to New York and I had high expectations for Model UN. After we had arrived to New York I was blown away by how beautiful the city is and how tall all the buildings were!
  • What did you learn about American culture?
    • I was really pleased to find that people are really friendly and more open to each other. Also in America people like to chat with you a lot which can be sometimes little annoying but its always rewarding because it improves your speaking skills.
  • What was the best sight/experience during the journey and why?
    • For me I think the best experience was to be in New York with your friends and experience a whole new world together and even make new friends along the way.
  • What was your least favorite sight/experience/museum during the journey and why?
    • There was actually no specific moment which I didn’t like but If I would have to say one thing it would probably be the walking. While we were in New York we had to walk a lot and always in the evening when we came back to the hotel our feet were always sore.
Manhattan
  • How would you describe your own contribution to preparing for the journey and your responsibilities there (the Model UN conference)? What could you have done better?
    • Before the trip to New York, we had to write an academic paper called position papers in pairs of two and I for example did it together with my friend Karlos. The idea behind position papers is that when we are at the conference we have a knowledge on what our country represents and what decisions would suit the best for our country.
  • What did you learn about the UN? Could you see yourself as a diplomat or having an international job in some way? Why / why not?
    • In UN, I learned how working in New York would look like and how important it is to learn new languages and skills all the time. I would absolutely see myself working in an international job but to be honest I don’t see myself as a diplomat or someone who is working at world politics because its just not my cup of tea.
  • Did the experience change you? If so, please be specific.
    • Yes absolutely. After the trip I feel like I have more knowledge on working in an international job and how it feels like to work as a diplomat in foreign country.
Inside the United Nations
  • What advice do you have for future delegates?
    • For future delegates I would highly suggest to make your position papers the best you can and before the trip revise your position paper and even possibly have notes for the conference. But the best advice I could give is that don’t stress about the position papers and after you have done them well you can just enjoy your trip and have good time with your friends in New York!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑