Model UN 2019

 

The Empire State Building

1.What did you think about New York/the US and the Model UN before the trip and how did your perceptions change?

This was my second time in New York and the Model UN conference and I can safely say that it still managed to exceed my expectations. Everything you hear about New York is true. It’s the city that never sleeps!

2. What did you learn about American culture?

Americans are extremely social and outgoing, quite the opposite of Finns. New Yorkers are always in a hurry and the city itself is so full of life.

The Statue of Liberty at sunset

3. What was the best sight/experience during the journey and why?

There are so many to choose from, but I really enjoyed the nights when we’d go out to eat with the whole group. I really enjoyed the poetry slam as well as our visit to Urban Academy, a high school that doesn’t believe in standardized testing. We got to see what an average day was like for a teenager in New York.

4.What was your least favorite sight/experience during the journey and why?

This is the hardest question to answer since I enjoyed every second of being in New York. All of the activities we did were really fun.

How would you describe your own contribution to preparing for the journey and your responsibilities there (the Model UN conference)? What could you have done better?

My partner and I had been at the conference the previous year, which helped all of us. We were able to share our experience and what we learned with the rest of the group. I felt much more prepared and less nervous the second time, since I knew what to expect. But, there’s always room for improvement no matter what.

What did you learn about the UN? Could you see yourself as a diplomat or having an international job in some way? Why / why not?

I learned more about what the UN does and how it works. After the first time I went to Model UN, I realized my interest for world issues and politics. I definitely see myself working in an international job and hopefully for the UN!

Views from the Staten Island Ferry

Did the experience change you? If so, please be specific.

Travelling always changes my perception on things in life. The entire trip made me realize how much I love being around all different kinds of people and learning to cooperate and overcome challenges to reach a common goal.

What advice do you have for future delegates?

My advice for new delegates is to go with an open mind! Model UN is such a rewarding experience that I will cherish forever. I’ve met so many incredible people from all over the world. Remember, hard work really does pay off so do the best you can with research and your positions paper!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑