New Yorker

My time in NYC ❤

  1. What did you think about New York/the US and the Model UN before the trip and how did your perceptions change?

I thought that the Model UN would be more intense and complicated but the conference was actually relatively laid-back and easy to follow.  

  1. What did you learn about American culture?

I learned that even in the big citys such as New York, americans value unity and this shows in their good social skills and how they treat each other.  Before going on this trip I had heard that New Yorkers are rude but on the contrary, they were all so nice and polite. 

  1. What did you learn about The Chamber of Commerce and The Consulate General of Finland in New York and the Finnish Mission?

I learned kind of how and what it takes to companies to “make it” in America. I also learned how Finnish companies have been doing in the US in general. 

  1. Based on your visit to Prospect Heights International High School, how does the American school system differ from the Finnish?

Based on our visit to the high school I’d say that they take rules and security very seriously. When we entered the school there was a security check and there were guards monitoring the hallways. However, the class we observed seemed pretty cool. They were using a comic book to study in their lesson which was great. 

  1. What was the best sight during the journey and why?

Central Park for sure. It was such an experience to see it in real life when you have seen it all your life in different movies and tv-shows. Cenral Park was so beautiful and I wish I could’ve stayed there for longer. 

  1. What was our favorite cultural experience (poetry slam, stand-up, musical) during the journey and why?

I loved the musical,  most likely because it was my first time ever seeing a musical.  I did, however, love the poetry slam too because it was so out of the box I usually do. 

  1. Which piece of art intrigued you at MoMa and/or The Metropolitan Museum of Art and why? Add a photo!

  Starry Night by Vincent van Gogh. I once made a very lengthy essay about his life and work, so his art will always be close to my heart. I also loved the ancient greek exhibiton.

  1. What did you learn about living in New York and being a New Yorker?

It’s very expensive to live there, so avoid going out to eat every night. Taking people into consideration and being nice is very New Yorker thing to do. Subways are really fun, you meet really awesome people there. Food in NYC is great I would recommend trying out french toast, it’s to die for. 

  1. How would you describe your own contribution to preparing for the journey and what was challenging?

I worked hard on the position paper. Doing research was sometimes so annoying when you wanted to know something specific and you couldn’t find a reliable source. 

  1. What did you do at the Model UN conference? What could you have done better? What did you excel at? Strengths and weaknesses?

I voted on motions and solutions. I could’ve been more vocal at the conference and talked to more people. I understood well what subjects people were talking about.

  1. What did you learn about the UN? Could you see yourself as a diplomat or having an international job in some way? Why / why not?

I learned how the UN makes desicions and how important working together is in there.   I could see myself having an international job because I like working with different people and I like traveling. 

  1. Did the experience change you? If so, please be specific.

Yes, I got to live like a New Yorker for a while. It makes you look at Finnish culture in a different light. 

  1. What advice do you have for future delegates?

Keep rewriting your position paper if you really want to make it good. Be active at the conference, even if you suck, at least you tried. Also dont get lost in there, trust me wandering in NYC in the middle of night… well it’s an experience. 

By: Kati Kiviniemi

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑